Foxwell NT510 Elite review on R230 350 SL 2005 (lots images)

Well Foxwell NT510 Elite (same as Foxwell NT530 in foxwelltool.com) I purchased has finally arrived and I’ll use this article to do an unboxing and a review of what it does.

Test car will be a UK Market, 2005 R230 350 SL.

 

Purpose:

I can’t speak for anyone else but I’m not that interested in coding, I just want to be able to fault find and diagnose problems. I’m quite happy to get bored with it if the car is running well lol.

 

Reviews:

Initial Background.
The Foxwell cost me the UK Sterling equivalent to 169US dollars. It arrived and in good order.

You get the unit, a carry case, some paperwork and manuals, a small USB Memory stick and a USB connection cable

 

Set Up
1. Firstly you have to go to the Foxwell site and register yourself as a user. Quite a straightforward process. You also register the Foxwell using its unique serial number.
2. Once this is done you then have to download a Foxwell “Software Updater” program to your computer. The program is Windows only. It will not work on a Mac.

  1. Then you connect the Foxwell to your computer with the supplied cable and can update the installed programs to the latest releases. At this point I have heard varying opinions so I can’t state factually, but my belief is that the unit ships as a “Blank Canvas” with only generic OBD2 software. At time of purchase I bought “Mercedes” version and I think during the connection process and registration of serial number, it knows this is a Mercedes version and allows full installation of the Mercedes software.All of the above process was clearly explained in the paperwork provided with the unit.

    First Use

    I hooked up the Foxwell inside the car via the OBD2 port underneath the dash. The unit powered up and provided the following display. Note it appears that a full range of Mercedes cars and vans can be catered for, but I haven’t looked for a complete list as yet, as I’m only currently interested in the R230.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 01

 

From here I selected “Mercedes” and got this option

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 02

 

And then “Benz” which took me here.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 03

I went for “Smart Vin” option and got this.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 04

And then it recognised my car and displayed the chassis number.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 05

 

Selecting “complete” took me to this screen for model year.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 06

 

And then finally to the interesting stuff.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 07

 

I went for Quick Scan. the unit started working……. as you can see there are 59 modules that it is checking. As it runs it becomes clear that some of the 59 are not actually fitted on my car and when it reaches those it just moves on through.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 08 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 09 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 10

 

It quickly became apparent there were a large number of Fault Codes being generated and this is a big difference to my iCarsoft which only found a few.

I ended up at this screen.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 11

 

I then decide to explore the codes and entered “read codes”

Here’s an example of what was coming up.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 12 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 13

 

Notice there is a “Save” option. I didn’t explore this to far but if you take the option it asks you to name a file. I’m assuming from there the file can be downloaded so you can print off your fault codes.

I then went back a stage and selected live data on one of the modules and got this:

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 14

 

And a switch position test

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 15

 

I then tried clearing a few codes and retested and the fault clearance worked.

Then I thought I’ll look at “Control Unit Adaptations”. Got the following options which I’m not sure about so didn’t go any further….

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 16 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 17 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 18 Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 19

 

At that point I thought I’d see if a “Rodeo” option was available. Firstly I found the ABC module report, which happily shows no faults!!

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 20

 

Selected the module…..

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 21

 

Went for “Active Test” and hey presto there is the Rodeo option.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 22

====================================================================

Time for a small update….

After plugging in the unit and going through the VIN No and model select process you come to this screen.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 23

I selected the “Oil Reset” option and got this option…

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 24

 

I stopped at this point as I didn’t want to risk resetting service indicators, but it does seem that you are able to reset the service intervals in the car.

Next I thought I’d have a closer look at some of the control modules, so went back in the menus to here.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 25

 

And selected “Control Modules” and got this…….

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 26

 

Selected “Drive” and up came the modules.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 27

 

Decided to look at “PSE Systems” as I’d recently fixed my PSE Pump with a new impeller…

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 28

 

Got this menu.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 29

 

And then a series of stored codes, which I was expecting as my pump had previously failed.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 30

 

I cleared the codes but then had a look at “Active Tests”.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 32

 

The following options came up. I used them all and they all worked the appropriate functions in the car.

 

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 33

I also got appropriate safety info as well.

 

 

 

Then I went back some stages and had a quick look at “Chassis” modules.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 34

 

 

And thought I’d look at SBC.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 35

 

There were a number of routines available…

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 36

 

I thought the brake counter reset was something that gets mentioned on the forum so I’ll have a look…

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 37

 

Got this for my car. I’d be grateful for some advice on how much life I have left lol….

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 38

 

There were a series of options for resetting. I didn’t take any as I would prefer to understand what these mean first, but the clear implication is that if you are reaching end of life on your own SBC, there’s an option to reset history and get more life out of yours.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 39

 

hile I was running tests I got some scary error messages on the dash! They all cleared after each test though.

Foxwell Nt510 Elite 2005 R230 350 Sl Review 40

 

Thats all for now. I think I’m at the point though that in my opinion I’ve shown that for the money the Foxwell is an excellent piece of kit and I’d wholeheartedly recommend it.

 

www.foxwelltool.com

(Visited 92 times, 1 visits today)
Share
Share